Sticks & Stones

there’ll never be enough time to explain
the meaning or the rules of the game

but you can skip some stones
and break your bones
and just feel young tonight

there’ll never be enough time to explain
the way the light hits the clouds inside my brain

but we can skip some stones
and break our bones
we’ll take some time
in and out of mind
we can sit and think
and share a drink
and we’ll both feel free tonight


Written: Summer 2010 or 2011
My first song. Written on the front porch of my parent’s house in Wakefield, MA.
I lost my notes, and found them years later. I’m glad I could bring it back to life.

Leave a Reply

