This Way

I’ve got something to say
I don’t want to live this way
I could walk right out the door
And I could keep on walkin’ ’til my feet are sore
I don’t want to live this way

You’ve got to make a change
Or I’ll let go of my reins
I can’t take it anymore
So, I’ll give you ’til tonight to get yourself off the floor
I don’t want to live this way

Dragonflies and daffodils
Earthworms and ants
It’s hard to plan ahead
When you know all things must pass
Finding a foothold
One day at a time
Making moments matter
Wasting time is fine

I’ve got something to say
We’re better off today
Because I stood right by your side
Through all the pain and all the lies
Took you a while to realize
That the way to love is through compromise

Now I want to live this way


Written: 2014
A reflection in a puddle on Charles street.

Leave a Reply

