I Wish I Were A Vulcan

I wish I were a Vulcan
so I wouldn’t start to cry
every time I thought I saw you
out the corner of my eye

I wish I were a Vulcan
then I wouldn’t want to die
as I lie in bed alone at night
and wonder, “why, oh why?”

oh, why, oh why was I so blind to see
my one in seven billion falling out of love with me?
and how, oh how could I twice make that mistake?
a Vulcan wouldn’t do that because logic would dictate

I wish I were a Vulcan
so I wouldn’t waste my time
running all those things you said to me
on loop inside my mind

I wish I were a Vulcan
then I wouldn’t have to lie
when someone asks me how I am
and I answer, “I’m just fine”

oh, why, oh why was I so blind to see
my one in seven billion falling out of love with me?
and how, oh how could I twice make that mistake?
a Vulcan would’ve noticed and tried to communicate

oh, I wish I were a Vulcan
with a cold and solemn vibe
steering clear of romance
and the ties that lovers bind

I wish I were a Vulcan
well, then I’d be satisfied
as a Science Officer
aboard the Starship Enterprise

oh, why, oh why was I so blind to see
my one in seven billion falling out of love with me?
and how, oh how could I twice make that mistake?
a Vulcan wouldn’t do that because logic would dictate

but I’m glad that I’m a human
and I’m glad that you are too
for it’s better to have loved and lost
than to have suppressed my love for you


Written: Out of my mind, 2016
This song was written in my head to the tune of Oh, Susanna (key of C).

Leave a Reply

